Using SLC over old thinset

Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional

Help Support Flooring Forum - DIY & Professional:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eurocom

recently just removed about 1000sqft of ceramic tile. I am not a floor layer by trade but demolition and removal is in my scope. I used a 6” tile bit to remove the tile, most of the thinset stayed on the concrete, spot that did come up created divets in the concrete slab. After removal I swapped to a floor sander with carbide bits, as it’s removed thin set with ease the other couple dozen times I’ve done this, no luck.

My plan now is to just self level the floor just high enough to cover the old thinset.

Any recommendations on a specific one to use for this application? I was just planning on using MAPEI self leveler as it’s the one I’ve used in the past, curious if there would be a better product for this application?

Thanks

I've had luck removing thinset with a flat shovel and in extreme cases, with a masonry grinder cup. A small 4" metal scrapper could also work to remove the thinset.

The Mapei should work in this application, provided that the FFE isn't beyond tolerance.

I've had luck removing thinset with a flat shovel and in extreme cases, with a masonry grinder cup. A small 4" metal scrapper could also work to remove the thinset.

The Mapei should work in this application, provided that the FFE isn't beyond tolerance.
I did contemplate using a 9inch diamond cup grinder, but taking into account all of the patch work I would need to do even after grinding it all down, I figured just floating the entire surface would be worth the cost in labor hours saved.

Should I be worried about the leveler not taking to the concrete / thinset? Prior to install I’ll prep the surfaces with a thorough vacuuming and removal of any loose material followed by primer.